Ohio AgriBusiness Association - Agribusiness and Production Systems Certification

The Ohio AgriBusiness Association provides an industry-recognized, agribusiness credential that verifies high school student expertise in the areas of agriculture, agribusiness and production systems.

To be eligible for the program, a student must be enrolled in a career­-technical agricultural program and complete three of the following courses, where they are engaged in learning and applying technical skills in foundational agricultural concepts:

  • Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources
  • Animal & Plant Science
  • Agronomic Systems
  • Mechanical Principles
  • Livestock Selection, Nutrition & Management.

Students are also required to complete a course in Business Management for Agricultural & Environmental Systems or Global Economics & Marketing of Food. These upper­-level courses test students’ knowledge of global agriculture marketing and business principles applied in agribusiness.

Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE) ­- students' out-­of-­school agriculture projects ­are also integral in attaining the new OABA credential.

To be considered, a student’s SAE must be an entrepreneurial, placement, or research-­driven project pertaining to the agriculture industry. The student must document at least 500 hours of work on their project(s) and identify the Ohio Agricultural & Environmental Systems Career Field Technical Content Standards achieved through their SAE.

Click here to download the credential requirements. To apply for the Ohio AgriBusiness Association - Agribusiness and Production Systems Certification, click here.

2017 Recipients 

  • Cade Field, Elgin FFA Chapter
  • Amanda Fowler, Indian Valley FFA Chapter
  • Kaleb Harp, Hillsboro FFA Chapter
  • Chloe Lambert, Miami Trace FFA Chapter
  • Dylan Meyer, Sentinel FFA Chapter
  • Kinsee Miller, Indian Valley FFA Chapter
  • Monique McMullen, Indian Valley FFA Chapter
  • James Perrill, Miami Trace FFA Chapter
  • Madalyn Schupp, Indian Valley FFA Chapter
  • Taylor Sprowl, Indian Valley FFA Chapter

2016 Recipients 

  • Joseph Chamberlain, Anthony Wayne FFA Chapter
  • Miles Burton, South Central FFA Chapter
  • Clay Gerfen, Ridgemont FFA Chapter
  • Luke Guthrie, Ridgedale FFA Chapter
  • Collin Dunaway, Felicity-Franklin FFA Chapter
  • Summer Sweetling, South Central FFA Chapter
  • Kara Walcher, South Central FFA Chapter