

May 2018 2018 Ohio Primary Results

Capitol Consulting Group

Gubernatorial Race

As expected, Mike DeWine (R) and Richard Cordray (D) will won their respective party nominations for Governor. In doing so, DeWine and Cordray both fended off challengers from the more conservative and progressive wings of their parties. Generally, 'establishment' candidates fared well across the board in Ohio yesterday. Despite President Trump's success, it appears that most Ohio voters still favor a more moderate, centrist candidate.

Republican Gubernatorial Primary Results

DeWine / Husted	Taylor / Estruth
59.8%	40.2%
494,766	332,275

While DeWine won comfortably, the margin was much closer than many polls predicted—based on polling from earlier this year, Taylor reduced DeWine's margin of victory by half. Further, she drove a very conservative, pro-Trump message that forced the DeWine campaign to alter its own message and appeal more to GOP base voters. DeWine now must modify his message to appeal to more moderate Republicans and swing voters.

Democratic Gubernatorial Primary Results

Cordray / Sutton	Kucinich / Samples	Schiavoni / Dodd	O'Neill / Lewis
62.3%	22.9%	9.2%	3.3%
432,264	155,694	62,315	22,196

Cordray's victory sets up a rematch of the 2010 Ohio Attorney General's race, where Cordray was defeated by DeWine. Cordray won by a significant margin, which suggested that many undecided Democratic voters ultimately went with the former Ohio Attorney General and Consumer Finance Protection Bureau Director. Polls in recent weeks showed Kucinich trailing Cordray by less than 20 points—this suggests that revelations regarding a speaking fee Kucinich collected from a pro-Assad group might have impacted his momentum.

Statewide Office Primaries / State Issue 1

In the only contested primary for statewide office, State Rep. Robert Sprague (R-Findlay) defeated Ashtabula County Auditor Sandra O'Brien 57.5% - 42.5%. Sprague will face Democrat Rob Richardson in the General Election. In related news, State Issue 1 (Congressional Redistricting Reform) passed overwhelmingly by a vote of 74.9% - 25.2%. The new process for drawing Ohio Congressional maps will begin in 2021.

Key Congressional Primaries

In the Republican Primary for US Senate, Congressman Jim Renacci defeated Cleveland area businessman Mike Gibbons to win the nomination. He will face incumbent Senator Sherrod Brown (D) in the General Election. This will be a closely watched race nationally. Unlike the Governor's race, President Trump and his surrogates actively campaigned for Renacci; this included a visit to Cleveland earlier in the week.

Republican	Senatorial	Primary	Results
------------	------------	---------	---------

Jim Renacci	Mike Gibbons	Melissa Ackinson
47.4%	31.7%	13.1%
360,475	241,109	99,455

12th Congressional District

Franklin County Recorder Danny O'Connor won the Democratic nomination for the 12th District with 40.9% of the vote. The closest challenger was Former Franklin County Sheriff Zach Scott, who garnered just 16.8%. O'Connor was the establishment favorite in a race that has national implications for Democrats. On the Republican side, State Senator Troy Balderson (R-Zanesville) fended off two different conservative challengers to win his party's nomination with 29.2% of the vote. Balderson edged out Liberty Township Trustee Melanie Leneghan and Tim Kane, who received 28.2% and 17.1% of the vote, respectively. O'Connor and Balderson will be on the ballot for a Special Election in August to finish out Tiberi's remaining term; the two will also face off on the November ballot.

16th Congressional District

Former OSU football player Anthony Gonzalez defeated State Representative Christina Hagan (R-Alliance) in the race to succeed Congressman Jim Renacci. Hagan had run an outsider campaign and received strong support from Trump and his allies. Like 12th District Republican Primary, Gonzales had support from mainstream and establishment Republican forces. Unlike the 12th District, this is a heavily Republican leaning area and its unlikely a Democrat could win the seat.

Note: Results are as of 8:30am on May 9th. Final results certified by the Secretary of State will vary.